logo Ministry of Foreign Affairs
الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية
سفارة الجزائر بطوكيو

لمحة عن الجزائر

لمحة عن الجزائر

الجزائر (دزاير بالأمازيغية) يطلق عليها رسميا الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية. هي دولة تقع في شمال افريقيا ضمن المغرب العربي، و هي اكبر دولة في البحر الأبيض المتوسط و الأكبر مساحة في افريقيا، يحدها من الشمال الشرقي تونس ومن الشرق ليبيا و جنوبا مالي و النيجر ومن الجنوب الغربي موريتانيا والصحراء الغربية وغربا المغرب.

تعتبر الجزائر منذ استقلالها في 1962 عضوه في هيئة الأمم المتحدة والإتحاد الإفريقي وجامعة الدول العربية وانضمت إلى منظمة الدول المصدرة للبترول في 1969، وساهمت الجزائر في فيفري 1989 في إنشاء اتحاد المغرب العربي.

يحدد الدستور الجزائري (الإسلام العروبة و الأمازيغية) كعناصر أساسية في تشكيل هوية الشعب الجزائري و الوطن كأرض الإسلام و جزء لا يتجزأ من المغرب العربي و البحر الأبيض المتوسط و افريقيا.

اﻟﺄﻋﻴﺎد اﻟرسمية
  • 1 جانفي: رأس السنة الميلادية
  • 12 جانفي: يناير (رأس السنة الأمازيغية)
  • 1 مايو: عيد العمال
  • 1 نوفمبر: عيد الثورة التحريرية
  • 5 يوليو: عيد الاستقلال
اﻟﺄﻋﻴﺎد اﻟدينية
  • ﻋﻴﺪ اﻟﻔﻄﺮ
  • ﻋﻴﺪ اﻟﺄﺿﺤﻰ
  • أول ﻣﺤﺮم
  • عاشوراء
  • اﻟﻤﻮﻟﺪ اﻟﻨﺒﻮي اﻟﺸﺮﻳﻒ
اﻟﺪول اﻟﻤﺠﺎورة

ﺗﻘﻊ اﻟﺠﺰاﺋﺮ ﻓﻲ ﺷﻤﺎل إﻓﺮﻳﻘﻴﺎ، ﻳﺤﺪﻫﺎ شمالا حوض اﻟﺒﺤﺮ اﻟﺄﺑﻴﺾ اﻟﻤﺘﻮﺳﻂ، وﻣﻦ اﻟﺸﺮق ﺗﻮﻧﺲ وﻟﻴﺒﻴﺎ؛ وﻣﻦ اﻟﺠﻨﻮب اﻟﻨﻴﺠﺮ وﻣﺎﻟﻲ؛ ومن اﻟﺠﻨﻮب اﻟﻐﺮﺑﻲ ﻣﻮرﻳﺘﺎﻧﻴﺎ واﻟﺼﺤﺮاء اﻟﻐﺮﺑﻴﺔ، وغربا اﻟﻤﻐﺮب.

معلومات عامة
عاصمة الجمهورية
مدينة الجزائر
النظام السياسي
جمهورية ديمقراطية شعبية
المساحة
2.381.741 ﻛﻠﻢ²
تعداد السكان
مليون نسمة (جانفي 2020) 43,9
اللغات الرسمية
العربية و الأمازيغية
الدين
الإسلام دين الدولة
العملة
الدينار الجزائري
+213
رمز الهاتف الدولي
غرينتش + 1
الوحدة الزمنية
التسمية الرسمية
الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية
الهضاب العليا و الأطلس التلي

مجموعة من السهول و الهضاب العليا و التي تمتد بشكل منحرف من الحدود المغربية الى الشمال الشرقي للجزائر ، فصل الصيف ذو مناخ ثقيل جاف ، والشتاء بارد جدا و رطب ، اراضيه محفرة بالعديد من الانهيارات ، وتتحول فيها الشطوط الى بحيرات مالحة بعد موسم سقوط الأمطار، فقير من ناحية النباتات وتتشكل من الأعشاب ( الضرورية للمواشي) والحلفاء التي تستعمل في صناعة الحبال و القفف و السجاد الخ.

هذه السهوب يحدها من الجنوب حاجز جبلي (الأطلس الصحراوي ) والذي ما هو في الواقع سوى امتداد للأطلس الأعلى المغربي في الجزائر .ومن الغرب الى الشرق تتوالى جبال القصور وجبال اولاد نايل وجبال الزيبان و كذلك جبال الأوراس التي ترتفع الى اكثر من 2300 م ، توجد عند سفوح هذه الجبال مجموعة من الواحات التي تحدد بداية الصحراء : بسكرة بوسعادة الأغواط و غرداية في سهب مزاب جنوبا.

الحيوانات البرية

نجد في الأرياف و الجبال في شمال البلاد اغنام، قرود في منعرجات الشيفة (جنوب الجزائر العاصمة) الماعز و الخيول و ارانب برية، ثعالب و حتى خنازير برية، ويمكننا عند رفع الراس الى السماء ملاحظة بالي العصافير المهاجرة نحو الجنوب في الشتاء (اللقلق،...) نحو الجنوب نلقى الغزال، الفنك وبعض الأيل البري والزواحف الصحراوية (الضب، الورن) وكذلك العقارب وبطبيعة الحال بعض الحيوانات المفترسة كالأسود والتماسيح التي غادرت البلاد منذ أكثر من قرن.

الساحل

يمتد الساحل الجزائري على مسافة 1200 كيلومتر من الشواطئ الرملية ذات المياه الفيروزية اللون. ويشمل على طوله المدن الرئيسية في البلاد الباهرة العمران والمليئة بالمواقع الطبيعية الجميلة ، والمنطقة الساحلية هي الآن واحدة من اكثر المناطق سياحة في البلاد. ابتداءا من الجزائر العاصمة البيضاء الى وهران المشرقة مرورا بعنابة وعبر خلجان منطقة القبائل، الساحل هو بلا شك قبلة السباحين والمتنزهين وهواة الصيد والرياضات المائية. ولا يحول النشاط السياحي في هذا الجزء من الجزائر دون الحفاظ عن الحياة البرية والحياة البحرية كمكان حقيقي للاسترخاء ، و يعتبر الساحل الجزائري مكان ثري بالتاريخ حيث تتناثر على حافة البحر العديد من المواقع الأثرية من العصور القديمة أو العثمانية.

الشرق

يعتبر الساحل القسنطيني غير معروف بصفة كافية مثل ساحل الجهة الغربية ، ولكنه رغم ذلك لا يخلو بالضرورة من السحر. ،" وقد بنيت قسنطينة (سيرتا القديمة) والتي يطلق عليها اسم "مدينة الجسور المعلقة بسبب بعدها عن البحر على صخرة تطل على أودية عميقة يتدفق في عمقها وادي الرمال ، أسسها الإمبراطور قسطنطين الأول الذي أعطاها اسمه . وقسنطينة مدينة المالوف ، الموسيقى العربية الأندلسية المعروفة هي قطب ثقافي جامعي جد هام.

وتعكس معالم مثل جامع الأمير عبد القادر الكبير او قصر الباي الثراء المعماري للمدينة. غير ان عنابة او بونة قديما هي اهم مدينة كبرى للساحل القسنطيني وهي واحدة من المدن التي تحتوي على أجمل سواحل الجزائر. بنيت على أنقاض المدينة القديمة المعروفة باسم بونا ، وهي الآن رابع أكبر مدينة في الوطن. وكنيسة القديس أوغسطين بالإضافة إلى الآثار القديمة هي ابرز معلم في المدينة ،حيث بنيت عام 354 ق. م على ذكرى هذا القس المولود في الجزائر، وأعطى شهرة لمدينة بونا. سكيكدة مدينة الفراولة هي المدينة الرئيسية الأخرى في هذا الساحل. كانت سابقا تسمى Philippeville ، تكريما للملك لويس فيليب ، مدينة سكيكدة كانت ميناءا صغيرا ذو طابع تجاري وقد نمت اليوم بشكل كبير.

الغرب

شواطئ جميلة موانئ رئيسية هذا ما يلخص منطقة الغرب. ووهران المسماة بالباهية هي ثاني أكبر مدينة في الوطن تنتشر على سواحلها شواطئ يعتبر البعض منها من بين الاكثر وحشية في البحر المتوسط. يقطنها حاليا ما يقارب مليوني نسمة. وقد استطاعت المنطقة تشكيل هوية خاصة بها رغم تعاقب ماضي استعماري مضطرب اثناء الأحقاب الإسبانية والتركية والفرنسية وهي معروفة بتراثها الثقافي المثير للإعجاب خاصة فن الراي المتمرد والحسي هذا النمط الموسيقي أصبح الأن سفيرا للمدينة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تلمسان هي المدينة الثانية في الغرب، تقع على 800 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر، وهي المدينة الوحيدة في الجزائر التي يمكنها التباهى اليوم بعمارة مغاربية من تلك النوعية الموجودة في الأندلس. و يطلق عليها اسم "مدينة الكرز" وهي ايضا مكان للزيارة الممتعة والمريحة. اما مستغانم و رغم تفتحها على اقتصاد عصري فقد أبقت في الوقت نفسه على الطابع القديم، و يكفي كدليل على ذلك زيارة الحي الجديد تيجديت، اين يمكن التمتع بالشمس على الشواطئ الجميلة المحيطة .

الصحراء

تقع الصحراء في شمال افريقيا وتمتد على طول عشرة بلدان (من المغرب و موريتانيا مرورا بالسودان و النيجر) غير ان اكبر مساحة لها توجد ضمن التراب الجزائري وجاءت تسمية الصحراء من اللغة العربية وتعني الأرض السهبية، مناخها حار جاف : يسجل مقياس الحرارة في الصيف 50 درجة في النهار وفي الشتاء يمكن ان تصل الحرارة الى اقل من 5 درجة في المرتفعات .

كانت الصحراء في السابق عبارة عن حقول و سهوب وكانت بها ثروة حيوانية غنية ، اما اليوم فلم يبق سوى بصمات وآثار مغمورة في الرمال ورسوم حجرية تركها سلفنا في المغارات، الزمن لا يؤثر على الحياة في هذا المكان حيث تغير الرياح في كل مره شكل الكثبان الرملية المتحركة بينما تبقى الصخور ثابتة و ابدية ، و السكون يعتبر سيد هذه المملكة و تأخذ فيها روعة مشاهد الغروب والشروق التي لا يمكن رؤيتها في أي مكان آخر انفاس المشاهدين .

العرق الكبير

العرق الكبير هي سلسلة من الكثبان الرملية التي تشغل 20% تقريبا من مساحة الصحراء و تكبر حسب قوة الرياح ، الضروف المناخية بها صعبة جدا حيث ان النباتات نادرة وتوجد اثارها بالواحات المنتشرة على جنبات الصحراء ، ونجد من بين اكبرها وادي سوف في الشمال ، ومن جهة اخرى نجد بساتين الساورة في العرق الغربي الكبير. هذه المنطقة التي تحمل اسم الوادي الذي يقطعها تعتبر الأكثر جذبا في الجنوب الجزائري .

القورارة هي منطقة في الجزائر مشكلة من مجموعة من الواحات يحدها شمالا (العرق الغربي الكبير) وغربا (التوات و الساورة) وفي الجنوب و الشرق ( هضبة تادمايت) ويفصلها عن تيديكت (عين صالح) مساحة واسعة مسطحة وصخرية .و تستعمل هذه المنطقة تماما مثل التوات (ادرار) و تيديكت نظام السقي المسمى فوقارة ( نظام سقي يعتمد على توزيع مياه السقي ) ويشمل العرق الكبير كذلك على بني عباس ، كرزيم ، كرزاز ، تيمودي ، واحات القرارة ومحاذاة مدن الأغواط ، غرداية وبشار وهذا الحاجز الذي يبدو صعب المرور، كانت تعبره دائما القوافل التي توصل بين الواحات المتناثرة بين موجات الرمال .ومن.المدن الرئيسية على طول العرق الغربي الكبير نجد المنيعة المسماة ايضا القليعة ، تيميمون(قورارة ) ادرار (توات).

 

التاسيلي


هي سلسلة جبلية تبلغ مساحتها حوالي 120000 كلم2 توحي لك من بعيد انها طلال مدينة قديمة. صنفت ضمن مواقع التراث العالمي من قبل اليونسكو عام 1982 ومحمية للإنسان والمحيط الحيوي في عام 1986، تمتلك الحظيرة واحدة من المجموعات الرئيسية للفن الصخري في العالم، تحتوي أكثر من 15000 من الرسومات والنقوش. وتعتبر الى غاية اليوم أكبر متحف هواء طلق في العالم. و تعتبر جنات هي المدينة الرئيسية فيه.

هذه المدينة، لؤلؤة التاسيلي الحقيقية ، تستحق اسمها الذي يعني الجنة. بناياتها البيضاء ذات الأبواب الزرقاء، الممتدة على جوانب الشوارع بمصابيح زرقاء داكنة وذهبية ، هي دعوة حقيقية للراحة. تطل عليها واحة النخيل الرائعة محاطة بالجبال الشاهقة و التي تستحق وحدها حقا القاء نظرة لها.

التل

تتشكل تضاريس الجزائر من ثلاثة كتل كبرى : التل في الشمال ، الهضاب العليا و الأطلس الصحراوي في الوسط والصحراء في الجنوب.

التل عبارة عن شريط ساحلي واسع بطول 1200 كلم و 100 الى 200 كلم عرض يحده من الجنوب سلسلة جبلية متوازية مع الساحل والتي تمتد من منطقة تلمسان في الغرب الى الحدود التونسية في الشرق وتتشكل ضمنها مجموعة من السهول الخصبة ( متيجة في جنوب الجزائر العاصمة ) اين يتمركز غالبية السكان و حقول و جبال(الأطلس التلي) التي يتجاوز ارتفاعها عادة 2000 متر خاصة جبال جرجرة حيث تكسوها الثلوج خلال الشتاء .

الصحراء

تغطي الصجراء 85% من التراب الجزائري (2000 كلم من الغرب الى الشرق و1500 كلم من الشمال الى الجنوب) يتراوح الجنوب الكبير للجزائر بين مناظر بركانية (جبال الهقار ) وجبال (طاسيلي نجار) سهوب حجرية و سهوب رملية حيث تظهر احيانا واحات رائعة .

النباتات

النباتات في شمال البلاد ذات طابع متوسطي وتمتد الغابات (الصنوبر، الفلين، الخروب، البلوط ...) على طول الشريط الساحلي و على جانب الأطلس التلي و العديد من الأزهار المتنوعة التي تنبت في الحدائق و البساتين ( الياسمين، الورد، الإكليل، و الجيرانيوم ...) وماعدا الحلفاء فقليل من النباتات تنمو في الهضاب العليا بوسط البلاد . وقد تم في جنوب البلاد وضع اساليب مبتكرة للسقي تساعد الفلاحين على زراعة كل انواع الفواكه و الخضر اضافة الى التمور.

الهقار

صنفت الكتلة الصخرية البركانية للهقار والتي عمرها اكثر من ثلاثة مليارات سنة من قبل اليونسكو في عام 1987 ضمن قائمة التراث الثقافي العالمي ، وهي تشكيلة جيولوجية ضخمة. تقدم مناظر طبيعية رائعة لأمواج الحمم البركانية الصلبة تتراوح الوانها من الأصفر إلى الأسود المتوهج البنفسجي. مناخها حار جدا في الصيف، وبارد شتاءا. وفي كل الأحوال فهو ليس اقل تطرفا من بقية الصحراء اذ هو في الواقع ملاذا هاما بالنسبة لبعض الأنواع النباتية والحيوانية.

وهي أيضا أرض الطوارق، الرجال الزرق المضيافين مع الاجانب. جمال هذه البراكين المذهل ، يدعو إلى الخلوة على غرار الأب تشارلز دو فوكو القس المسيحي الذي عاش وسط الهقار كناسك.

الوسط

تعتبرالجزائر البيضاء المسماة (البهجة) كأول مدينة في المنطقة المغاربية. تأسست سنة 960 على يد بولوغين بن زيري على أنقاض المدينة الرومانية القديمة Icosium ، تمتد المدينة العثمانية القديمة حوالي ثلاثين كيلومترا. يحدها من الشمال والشرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط الذي يشكل خليج الجزائر العاصمة الشهير، تطل عليه القصبة ،المدينة الإسلامية العريقة وقد اثرت العديد من التدخلات الخارجية (الرومانية والتركية والفرنسية) على منطقة الجزائر العاصمة مما جعلها منطقة دولية ومنفتحة على العالم .

من القصبة الأسطورية الى البوقالات التقليدية مرورا بطبخها، استطاعت مدينة محمد راسم الإستفادة من تراثها الثقافي الغني. وعلى بعد بضعة كيلومترات تجد هناك مدينة تيبازة المدينة الرومانية القديمة ومتحفها العتيق وأبعد قليلا تاتي منطقة القبائل الوعرة وخلجانها الصغيرة التي تستحق الزيارة. كل شيء هنا يدعوك للاسترخاء من جيجل الى بجاية مرورا بتيزي وزو.

الواحات

الواحات هي فضاءات ملونة و سماوية لاتشبه بعضها البعض وتقع في حدود الصحراء بفن و معرفة غير عادية... تجعل كل من يزورها يحس انه في حلم. هي جزر الصحراء، حيث تحفر الوديان دروبا للسعادة، و تقف أشجار النخيل ساهرة على رفاهية سكانها. الواحات الجزائرية أسطورية و مثيرة للإعجاب وهي نتيجة لمعرفة زراعية وتميز معماري. هذه الواحات هي بو سعادة، "مدينة السعادة"، بسكرة ، "ملكة الزيبان" الوادي، "مدينة الألف قبة " تقرت منطقة الكثبان الرملية (شمال شرق العرق الكبير) ، ورقلة واحة النخيل الهائلة التي بها اكثر من مليون نخلة ، غرداية ، المدينة في شكل الهرم (تأسست 1053) والأغواط بوابة الصحراء الحقيقية (400 كلم عن الجزائر العاصمة).

كنتاج لمعرفة أكيدة وتقنية خارقة للسقي ، تعتبر الواحات الجزائرية الأجمل في العالم . تتدفق من اعماق الأرض مياهها العذبة الصافية إلى السطح بأيدي ماهرة للمزارعين الجزائريين ، لتحول رمال الصحراء الى مشهد سماوي. العديد من المدن معروفة بواحة خاصة بها. وهوما ينطبق بشكل خاص على طولقة، التي تعد أهم واحة في الزيبان. و تاخذ المدينة شهرتها من نوعية تمورها، "دقلة نور" (أصابع الضوء) ومع ذلك تبقى تاغيت جوهرة الصحراء الحقيقية من دون شك ، الواحة الاكثر شهرة في الوطن.

المزاب

يقع مزاب في وسط الجزائر ، و هي هضبة صخرية يتتراوح ارتفاعها ما بين 300 و 800 متر. مشكل من مجموعة متكونة من خمس واحات ، تشمل خمسة قصور (قرى محصنة) : غرداية- مليكة - بني يزقن بنورة العطف واثنين من الواحات المعزولة في الشمال : القرارة و بريان. على سفحها توجد منازل ذات نوافذ وأبواب صغيرة و منخفضة، (للحماية من العواصف الرملية والحرارة) متلاصقة ببعضها البعض والشوارع ضيقة في شكل متاهة حقيقية.

و كل مدينة محمية بالجدران والبوابات التي تمكن الدخول لها. وتشكل غابات النخيل جزءا لا يتجزأ من هذه المدن لكونها تحوي المنازل الصيفية التي تستقبل سكان المنطقة خلال اوقات الحرارة .و الحدائق خضراء والفواكه وفيرة بفضل النظام القديم للسقي ويعتبر وادي مزاب جزء من التراث العالمي ، وعرضت عبر لوحات زيتية للعديد من الرسامين المستشرقين.

جميع الحقوق محفوظة - وزارة الشؤون الخارجية و الجالية الوطنية بالخارج - 2023

logo Ministry of Foreign Affairs
People's Democratic Republic of Algeria
Embassy of Algeria in Tokyo

About Algeria

About Algeria

Algeria (Arabic: الجزائر Tamazight:Dzayer), officially the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria, is a State of North Africa which is a part of the Maghreb. It is the biggest country lining the Mediterranean Sea and the vaster first one of Africa. It shares ground borders in the northeast with Tunisia, in the East with Libya, in the South with Niger and Mali, in the southwest with Mauritania and territory of the Western Sahara, and on the West with Morocco.

Algeria is a member of the United Nations (UN), of the African Union (AU) and the League of Arab States almost since independence in 1962. It joined the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) in 1969. In February 1989, Algeria took part, along with the other Maghreb states, in the creation of the organization of the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU).

The Algerian Constitution defines "Islam, Arabity and Amazighness" as "fundamental components" of the identity of the Algerian people and the country as "land of Islam, an integral part of the Greater Maghreb, Mediterranean and African".

Public holidays
  • January 1: New Year's Day
  • January 12 : Yennayer - Amazigh New Year
  • May 1: Labor Day
  • November 1: Liberation Revolution Day
  • July 5: Independence Day
Religious holidays
  • Eid al-Fitr (end of Ramadhan)
  • Eid al-Adha
  • Hegira New Year's Day (Awal Muharram)
  • Ashura
  • Birth of the Prophet (Mawlid Ennabawi Echarif)
Neighboring countries

Algeria is located in North Africa. It shares land borders to the northeast with Tunisia, to the east with Libya, to the south with Niger and Mali, to the southwest with Mauritania and Western Sahara territory, and to the west with Morocco.

General infos
Capital city
Algiers
Political regime
Democratic and popular republic
Area
2 381 741 km²
Population
43,9 million inhabitants (estimate January 2020)
Languages
Arabic and Tamazight
Religion
Sunni Islam
Currency
Algerian dinar
Phone code
+213
Local time
G.M.T. + 1
Official name
People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
The highlands and the Saharan Atlas

A set of semi-arid plains and highlands running diagonally from the Moroccan border to North-eastern Algeria. Summers are heavy and dry and winters are very cold and humid. The ground is dug by many depressions, the chotts, which turn into salt lakes after the rainy season. The vegetation is quite poor and sparse. It is limited to tufts of grass (very useful for flocks of sheep), as well as alfa, a graminaceous plant that is used to make ropes, baskets, carpets, etc.

These steppes are delimited in the South by a mountainous barrier (the Saharan Atlas) which is in fact only the extension in Algeria of the Moroccan High Atlas. From west to east follow the mountains of Ksour, Ouled-Naïl, Zibans and Aurès which culminate at more than 2,300 m. at the bottom of these mountains are a string of oases that mark the threshold of the Sahara: Biskra Boussaâda Laghouat, or Ghardaïa, further south, in the M'zab Valley.

The Fauna

In the countryside and the mountains in the north of the country, we meet sheep, monkeys magots in the gorges of Chiffa (south of Algiers), goats, horses, hares, foxes and even wild boars. Looking up to the sky, we can see the ball of migratory birds that move south in the winter (starlings, storks, etc.). Further south, we meet gazelles, fennecs, some striped hyenas, small desert rodents (gerboises, gerbils ...), some scorpions and of course camels. Lions, ostriches and other crocodiles have left the country for more than a century.

The Coastline

The Algerian coastline is 1,200 kilometers of sandy beaches bordered by a turquoise sea. Grouping all the major cities on its territory, abounding with magnificent natural sites, the region is today one of the most touristic of the country. From Algiers the white to Oran the radiant, via Annaba and the wild creeks of Kabylie, the coastline make certainly the happiness of hikers, swimmers, and lovers of fishing and water sports. The tourist activity of this part of Algeria does not prevent the preservation of the marine fauna and flora. A true place of relaxation, the Algerian coast is also a place rich in history, the seaside being dotted with several archaeological sites of the ancient or Ottoman era.

The East

The Constantine coast’s is certainly less recognized than that of the West, with an atypical charm. Nicknamed the "city of suspension bridges", Constantine (ancient Cirta) is built on a rock overlooking deep gorges at the bottom of which flows the river Rhummel, for lack of the sea.

It was founded by Emperor Constantine I who gave it his name. City of the Mufuf, the famous Arab-Andalusian music, Constantine is a very important cultural and university center. Monuments like the great mosque of Emir Abdelkader or the Bey Palace bear witness to the architectural wealth of the city. However the real important city of the Constantine coast is Annaba, the old Bône. It is one of the cities that has the most beautiful coast of Algeria. Built on the ruins of the ancient city known as Hippone, the city is now the fourth largest city in the country.

The main point of interest of the city, besides the ancient ruins, is the Basilica of St. Augustine, erected in memory of this priest born in Algeria in 354 BC. J-C, who gave his nobility to the city of Hippone. The other important town on the coast is Skikda, the city of strawberries. Formerly known as Philippeville, as a tribute to King Louis-Philippe, the city of Skikda was a small commercial port that has grown considerably today.

The West

Beautiful beaches and large ports, here is what summarizes the Oranie. Nicknamed "El Bahia" (the radiant), Oran is the second largest city in the country. Its coast is dotted with beaches some of which are among the wildest in the Mediterranean. The agglomeration now has nearly two million inhabitants. Coming from a turbulent colonial past (Spanish, Turkish and French), the region knew how to form its own identity. It is now recognized for its impressive cultural heritage, including raï. This style of music, rebellious as sensual, has become the ambassador of the city around the world.

The second city of Oranie, Tlemcen, situated in 800 m of height, is the only city of Algeria to being able to boast to possess Moresque buildings of the quality of those of Andalusia. Nowadays, the one that we call "the city of cherries" is a place convenient to the relaxation and of the most pleasant to visit. Mostaganem kept, as for it, a old character, but also opened in a modern economy. For proof, it is enough to surrender to the new district of Tijdit, where the beautiful beaches surroundings allow to take advantage of the sun.

The Desert

Sahara, desert situated in the North of Africa, extends over ten countries (from Morocco to Mauritania, including Sudan and Niger), however it is on the Algerian territory that it occupies most surface. The term Sahara is of Arabic origin (As-Sahara) which means desert or steppe. Thus it is the pleonasm that to say the "desert of Sahara".

It is a hot and dry desert: in summer, it is more than 50 degrees during the day; in winter, he can be 5 degrees at high altitude. Previously, Sahara was swampy. Place setting of steppe and savanna, its fauna was very rich. Today there are only fossils lost in the sand and the rock paintings left by our ancestors in caves. It is a place where the time seems not to have grip anymore on the life so much dunes, changing according to the wind, are short-lived and the unchanging and eternal rocks. The silence is master of a kingdom where the beauty of the landscapes of the rise and the sunset, taking colors seen nowhere else, takes the breath away of the spectator.

The Big Erg

Ergs are big massifs of dunes which occupy approximately 20 % of the surface of Sahara. They evolve according to prevailing wind. Weather conditions are extremely severe there. The rare tracks of vegetation concentrate in small oases situated in the perimeter of the desert. Among the biggest, we find in the North that of El Oued. However it is in the Big western Erg that we find the gardens of Saoura. Of the name of the oued which crosses it, the valley of Saoura is really one of the most attractive regions of the Algerian South.
Gourara is a region of Algeria formed of a set of oasis. Encircled by the Big Western Erg (in the North), Touat and Saoura (on the West) and plateau of Tadmaït (in the South and in the East), an immense flat and rocky area which separates it from Tidikelt ( Aïn Salah). Just like Touat ( Adrar) and Tidikelt, this region uses the system of irrigation of Foggaras (system of captation of waters of infiltrations).

The Big Erg, it is also Beni Abbès, Guirzim, Kerzaz, Timoudi, the oases of Gourara and the closeness of the cities of Laghouat, Ghardaïa and Béchar. This apparently impassable barrier was always crossed by the caravans which make the connection between oases spread in the waves of sand. The main cities, lining the Big Western Erg, are El Meniaa (so called El Goléa), Timimoun ( Gourara) and Adrar ( Touat).

The Tassili

This mountainous massif with an area of nearly 120,000 km reminds of the ruins of an ancient city. Classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1982 and as a human and biosphere reserve in 1986, this park has one of the largest collections of rock art in the world, comprising over 15,000 drawings and engravings. This is considered, to date, the largest open-air museum in the world. Its main city is Djanet.

This city, real pearl of Tassili, deserves its name which means Paradise. The white buildings with blue doors, lining streets enhanced with dark blue and golden streetlights, are a real invitation to rest. Its magnificent palm grove dominated by imposing mountains is worth a look by itself.

The Tell

The relief of Algeria consists of three large groups: Tell in the North, the highlands and the Saharan Atlas in the center, and the Sahara in the South.

The Tell is a narrow coastal strip 1200 km long and 100 to 200 km wide. It is bounded on the south by a mountain range, more or less parallel to the coast, and which extends from the Tlemcen region to the west, to the Tunisian border to the east. It is made up of fertile plains (like the one of Mitidja south of Algiers) where the majority of the Algerian population, valleys and a succession of mountains (the Tellian Atlas) are concentrated, which regularly exceed 2,000 m. in the East, especially in Kabylie where the peaks of the Djurdjura massif are covered with snow in winter.

The Sahara

It covers about 85% of the Algerian territory (2,000 km from East to West, 1,500 km from North to South). The Great South of Algeria alternates between volcanic landscapes (Hoggar massif) and lunar (Tassili N'Ajjer), plains of stones and (the Regs) and sandy plains (the Ergs) from which sometimes emerge beautiful oases.

The Flora

The vegetation is Mediterranean in the north of the country. The forest (cork oaks, carob trees, pines ...) and the maquis dominate all along the coast and on the flanks of the Tellien Atlas and different kinds of flowers and plants grow in gardens and orchards (jasmine, rose, geranium, rosemary ...). Apart from alfa, very few plants grow on the highlands in the center of the country. In the oases of the Sahara, ingenious irrigation systems allow peasants to cultivate, apart from date palms, all kinds of fruits and vegetables in their plantations.

The Hoggar

Classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987, the Hoggar volcanic massif, which has been existing for more than three billion years, is a huge geological formation. It has extended a fascinating landscape with its waves of hardened lava whose colors range from flaming yellow to black purple. The climate is very hot in summer, and it can freeze on winter nights. However, it is less extreme than the rest of the Sahara, and the Hoggar is an important refuge for certain animal and vegetable species. The Hoggar is also the territory of the Tuareg, these blue men so welcoming with the foreigners.

The breathtaking beauty of this volcanic relief, invites you to meditate as did Father Charles de Foucauld, a Christian priest who lived as a hermit in the heart of the Hoggar.

The Center

Nicknamed "El Bahdja" (the joyful) or Algiers the White, the capital is now the first agglomeration of the Maghreb. Founded in the year 960 on the ruins of the ancient Roman city Icosium by Bologhine Ibn Ziri, the old Ottoman city stretches for about thirty kilometers. It is bordered to the north and east by the Mediterranean Sea forming the famous bay of Algiers, and dominated by the Kasbah - the old Muslim city. The many foreign influences (Roman, Turkish and French) have shaped the region of Algiers, making it a cosmopolitan region open to the world.

From the mythical Kasbah to the traditional bouqalettes, through its gastronomy, the city of Mohamed Racim has taken advantage of its important cultural heritage. A few kilometers away is Tipaza the ancient Roman city and its incredible ancient museum, and further afield there is the Kabylie and its craggy coves that are definitely worth a visit. From Jijel to Bejaia, through Tizi Ouzou, everything here invites you to relax.

The Oasis

No oasis is similar to another one, they are maintained with a big art and an exceptional science at the threshold of the Algerian desert. Oases are colored and paradisiac spaces which make wonder all the visitors … They are the islands of the desert, where wadis dig a furrow of happiness, Palm trees draw up themselves staying up the prosperity of his inhabitants.

The Algerian oases are impressive and mythical. It is the profit of a distinctive agricultural and architectural know-how. Among these oases, Bou Saada " the estate of the Happiness ", Biskra, " the queen of the Zibans ", El Oued, the " city in thousand domes ", Touggourt, the region of dunes (the North of the Big oriental erg), Ouargla, the immense oasis the palm grove of which counts more than a million date palms, Ghardaïa, the city in pyramidal shape (Established in 1053) and Laghouat the authentic door of the desert (400 km from the capital Algiers). Result of certain know-how and exceptional science of the irrigation, the Algerian oases are the most beautiful of the world. It is the cool and crystal clear water which springs from bowels of the Earth, and which the ingenious hands of the Algerian farmers lead to the surface to transform the desert of sand into a paradisiac landscape.

Several big cities are considered as their oases. It is in particular the case of Tolga, that is the most important oasis of Zibans. The city owes its fame to the quality of its dates, the "DegletNour" (the fingers of light). However, the most famous palm grove of the country remains unquestionably that of Taghit, real jewel of the desert.

The M'zab

Situated in the center of Algeria, The M'zab is a rocky tray the height of which varies between 300 and 800 meters. It is a set of five oases, which groups five ksours ( strengthened villages): Ghardaïa - Melika-Beni-Isguen - Bounoura and El-Atteuf; and two isolated oases further north: Berriane and Guerrara.

In, its foot, houses, in the tiny windows and low doors (to protect itself from the wind of sand and from the heat) hang on the some to the others and the narrow alleys form a real labyrinth. Every city is protected by ramparts and doors which allow the access. Palm groves are inseparable of these cities because they shelter the summer residences which welcome the population during the big hot season. Gardens are there luxuriant and plentiful fruits thanks to the ancestral system of irrigation. The valley of Mzab been a part of the world heritage and was represented in paint by numerous Orientalist painters.

All rights reserved - Ministry of Foreign Affairs and National Community Abraod - 2023